The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Rainy Night Pasta

Leave a comment

20130206-150853.jpgIt was a perfect rainy day in Michigan today! I love the rain, it reminds me of home. I’m originally from the Mid-Ohio Valley, and if you’ve ever been to southern Ohio, you know it rains there as much as it does in Seattle. Anyway, I’m kind of backtracking here. The next few posts are meals that I made on different days, I just haven’t had time to post. Oh the joys of motherhood!

This night I made Rustic Pasta with Pecan-Crusted Seitan from The Kind Diet. It was pretty yummy, but overwhelming to make all at one time. I marinated the seitan early in the day and that part was easy. However, when it was show time, I almost forgot it in the fridge! Between cooking the spaghetti, frying up the shredded cabbage and celery, and breading and frying the seitan, I was kind of a nervous wreck! I also had a three year old running around the kitchen, really she was playing with play dough, and a baby maybe napping. I think I may have shell shock because I hear “phantom cries” when I’m in a different room than baby J.

The family really enjoyed the pasta! So I will make that again. First, I fried up some shredded cabbage and diced celery. My family hates onions, so I completely omitted those, as well as the garlic. Next, I added the pasta to the veggie skillet. Then, I added some soy sauce and a few tablespoons of marinara sauce. Finally, I tossed it all together. Done!

The seitan, however, divided the family. I really liked it, but my three year old and husband were not impressed. I think this was my fault though….I had too much marinade on the seitan when I breaded it and it turned out kind of gooey. Also, I used cubed instead of strips. I’m not sure how big of a role that played, but maybe that made a difference. It did turn out to look like the one in the cookbook picture so high five for this vegan mama!

Overall, it was stressful to make, but I think it was worth it. The next time I make this will likely be on a weekend when my hubby is off work and can corral the kids.

Leave a Reply

