The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Seitan Piccata with White Wine and Capers

Leave a comment

20130206-161228.jpg
This sounds really intimidating, but it’s not that hard! Once again I made a recipe from, surprise, surprise, The Kind Diet.

My husband and I made this one together, so I had a total blast! We laughed the whole time and, I know this sounds hokey, but I feel like you could taste the love and joy in the dish. This was so much easier than the other night when I made the pasta. Mostly because I had help! He helped chop the parsley while I breaded and fried the seitan. He also grabbed any ingredient that I needed while I was busy whisking away on the stove. I think we both felt a feeling of accomplishment when we finished the sauce and poured it over the fried seitan. (She made me be her soux chef – B)

We both agreed that the seitan tasted fantastic! Much better than my earlier attempt with the Pecan-Crusted Seitan. Oh well…I tried. The sauce reminded me a little of mayo, but I loved how it was so creamy.

We also made roasted sweet potatoes to go with our meal. This part was super easy and everyone always fights over who gets more of the sweet potatoes! These are probably my favorite comfort food. When I eat these, I feel like I’m getting a big hug!

I cut 2-3 sweet potatoes into large chunks and toss them in some olive oil. Next, I sprinkle with kosher salt and black pepper. Then, I put it in a 400 degree oven and roast for about 30 minutes. Be careful not to let them burn, you want them to brown on the bottom because that makes them sweet and delicious!

Leave a Reply

