The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Azuki Beans with Kabocha Squash

Leave a comment

This meal has replaced chicken and dumplings as my favorite comfort food. It only has four ingredients, which makes it insanely easy to make, and it is deeply revitalizing.

When I first decided that I wanted to prepare this dish from The Kind Diet, I wasn’t expecting to go on a quest for the holy grail, in this case azuki beans. I could not find these mythical beans anywhere! I searched the local grocery stores, health food stores, and even my beloved Whole Foods without any luck. I was totally discouraged because even if I substituted these beans with something else, such as black beans, I knew it just wouldn’t be the same as Alicia’s dish. I had to find these damn beans!

I vowed to never give up and I continued to search for this key ingredient….and I finally found it! It was hiding at my local farmer’s market. Elated, I grabbed the beans and joyously returned home to prepare this meal.

I loved the way this smelled while I was cooking it. It reminded me of the ocean because of the kombu and I couldn’t stop smiling. I feel like it transported me to a warm, serene beach instead of the snowy Midwest.

I also really loved the soft texture of the dish. The squash gave this recipe a sweet flavor. My husband and I both enjoyed this, but my toddler,A, was less than thrilled. Honestly, I wasn’t expecting her to be a fan because what three year old likes beans? Not mine,anyway.

20130216-171201.jpg

Leave a Reply

