The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Pumpkin Bread

Leave a comment

I absolutely adore pumpkin! Autumn is my favorite season. I love the gorgeous foliage, the slight chill in the air, and most of all, I love the abundance of pumpkin. This passed fall, despite being in my final months of pregnancy, I went to the farmers market and bought a huge pumpkin to make the pumpkin bread recipe from The Kind Diet.

I have played around with this recipe a little bit, changing which nuts I use mostly. The recipe calls for macadamia nuts, but I think those taste really buttery and that just grosses me out! I have found that I prefer to use walnuts in this bread and that makes it perfect. It makes two loaves, which makes it ideal for freezing one for later. I just recently thawed out the one I froze in October (I think) and it is still pretty tasty.

My whole family loves this bread because of the vegan chocolate chips, who doesn’t love chocolate? I love to make this the most when I can get my hands on fresh pumpkins.I tend to make this recipe in large batches and freeze multiple loaves so I can eat them throughout the winter months. This pairs well with a nice cup of coffee. Just don’t forget to admire the beautiful leaves as you enjoy this seasonal treat.

20130222-200759.jpg

Leave a Reply

