The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Lentil Stew

Leave a comment

Tonight felt like a soup and vegan grilled cheese kind of night. So I made lentil stew from The Kind Diet! B brought home some beautiful produce from the store yesterday. I haven’t been able to go to the store since December because of the flu epidemic in the states, so I’m going a little crazy stuck in this house with two kids under four! Thankfully, April marks the end of flu season and I will be able to leave the house with Baby J and A very soon. Anyway, on to the recipe! Here are some of the lovely veggies my hubby brought home last night.

20130314-202201.jpg

After I chopped all those up, I sautéed them with a few tablespoons of olive oil and half of the seasoning mixture.

20130314-202748.jpg

Next, you add the broth, water, tomato and lentils.

20130314-202850.jpg

After simmering for about 30 minutes it was done!

20130314-202958.jpg

All three of us really enjoyed this stew. The spices were a perfect balance and I added more vegetables than what the original recipe called for, but you can never have too many veggies, right? I love that it made such a big batch and I will probably freeze a container or two so I’ll have a quick fix on hand when life gets kind of crazy. Like that ever happens!

Leave a Reply

