The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Cheater Chili

Leave a comment

Before I left home and moved to the Arctic wasteland that is Michigan six years ago (wow! Six years ago?!) my mom gave me a slow cooker. She said to me,”I can’t send you out into the world without a slow cooker.” I am so grateful for that thing! It is one of my favorite kitchen gadgets. I also inherited two from my Nana, so I have a total of three slow cookers now! Which is very convenient because when one is dirty I still have two more to cook with.

One of the cookbooks I received for Christmas was The Vegan Slow Cooker and I absolutely adore this book! I usually don’t have a lot of time to prepare meals anymore because I’m always busy with the kids, like taking A to school or picking her up from play dates or taking J to one of his numerous doctor appointments. This cook book is full of recipes that only take about 15 minutes of prep time! I haven’t gotten a chance to make many recipes from this cook book yet, but there are a bunch that I am eager to try.

20140113-101431.jpg

I decided to make “Cheater Chili” on one of the days that we were snowed in with almost twenty inches of snow. It was incredibly easy to prepare because it was basically just three cans of beans, a can of tomatoes, a can of corn and some chili powder. However, I think it was a bit flavorless. B really enjoyed it, but the rest of us had a hard time chocking it down. I think next time I’ll stick to my own chili recipe.

20140113-101344.jpg

Leave a Reply

