The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Chick’n and Dumplings

Leave a comment

I grew up in the kinda south, and my parents were both from the south, but they never made me chicken and dumplings. I had to go to Cracker Barrel to get my fix! Actually, now that I think of it, my mom never really made anything from scratch…most of my meals growing up came from the freezer or a box….or a drive thru. Anyway, I grew up, moved out, got a cookbook, and taught myself how to cook for my family. And this recipe is one that we all love!

20140114-102241.jpg

This recipe comes from The Vegan Slow Cooker. The majority of it was pretty easy to make, chop up veggies, put it in the pot and let it be. Then I read the end of the recipe. To make the dumplings, you need to mix together the dough, roll it out and cut it into rectangles. Ugh! How I loathe rolling out dough! It wasn’t so bad and my father-in-law was in the kitchen keeping me company, so that was kind of fun. My furnace had gone out, not so fun, and he was waiting for the repair man with me. My father-in-law didn’t stay for dinner, but I bet that if he had he would have enjoyed my cooking. This dish was very comforting to me because it had all of the tastes and textures of the real chicken and dumplings. I’m sure that I will make this again on another winter night sometime soon.

20140114-102408.jpg

Leave a Reply

