The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Slow Cooker Banana Bread

Leave a comment

This is a recipe from The Vegan Slow Cooker. Banana bread in a slow cooker? Heck yes! This sounded super easy and fast….so I thought.

It started out easy enough, grab all your ingredients.

20140122-112843.jpg
Then mix your ingredients together.

20140125-081144.jpg

20140125-081158.jpg
Pour the batter into a greased loaf pan and put it in the slow cooker.

20140125-081405.jpg
Place a wooden spoon in place to allow heat to escape and not allow condensation to form on the lid.

20140125-081509.jpg
This was supposed to only take a few hours, but after four hours, the bread still wasn’t cooked all the way through. It was also a complete mess!

20140125-081631.jpg
I made this bread in a loaf pan instead of the slow cooker because I wanted to keep my slow cooker clean, but the batter overflowed the loaf pan and made a big mess of both the loaf pan and the slow cooker.

20140125-081821.jpg
The flavor of this banana bread was ok, but the texture was way off. It was everything that a non-vegan would expect vegan food to be like. It was gummy and kind of gross to eat. I was really disappointed with this recipe. I really wanted a bread that I could throw in the slow cooker and would come out delicious and perfect. However, I guess I will just have to continue that vegan quest because this was not the bread I was looking for.

Leave a Reply

