The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Easy Veggie Chickpea Biryani

Leave a comment

I made this dish from The Vegan Slow Cooker on a Sunday as my mother-in-law was taking A out the door to church. Sunday is A’s “Grandma Day,” so my MIL picks her up in the morning, takes her to church, takes A back to her house, feeds her, then brings her home for dinner. Sounds like I have a lot if free time on Sundays, right? Nope! I still have one adventurous toddler with a thirst for thrills and danger. So, I say to The Vegan Slow Cooker, bring on the slow cooker recipes!

20140126-174118.jpg
The entire family loved this, which is extremely rare. The aroma that filled my house while this was cooking transported me to an exotic land of delicious wonder. I loved the flavors of the cumin and ginger with the chickpeas and sweet potatoes. And when you got a bite with some of the rice?! Amazing! This was a very filling and satisfying meal, especially on a cold winter’s day. The next time I’m in need of a flavorful pick me up, this is the recipe I’m going to make.

Leave a Reply

