The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Creamy Butternut Squash Risotto

Leave a comment

This is another recipe from The Vegan Slow Cooker. I have always been very intimidated by risotto because it seems to be quite labor intensive, standing in front of the stove, frequently stirring it, adding water, don’t let it get too hot too fast, make sure to get it hot enough at the right time so the rice will cook,etc. It just always seemed to be too much work for me…but, I have always wanted to try it. So, when I saw this recipe in my slow cooker cook book I couldn’t wait to try it! I have a lot of canned pumpkin on hand, so I substituted it in place of butternut squash.

20140126-185155.jpg
This was so easy! Add everything to the slow cooker and cook on high for 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 hours. Make sure to stir every 30 minutes.

20140126-185318.jpg
I always line my slow cookers with Renyold’s slow cooker bags and it makes clean up insanely easy. I just love it.

20140126-185451.jpg
I was really disappointed by the way this dish turned out. The flavor was ok, very savory, which neither of my kids liked. For whatever reason the rice was really gritty. Is Arborio rice supposed to be like that? I’ve never cooked with it before. I hate throwing away food, but I just couldn’t make myself eat this dish and B outright refused to eat it. It was a good try, but I don’t think I’ll be making this recipe again.

Leave a Reply

