The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Beefy-Cheesy Mac

Leave a comment

I made this dish one night when my husband was working late and it was just me and the kids. I wanted to make something that I could throw together really fast and something that was still healthy and kid friendly. This is a recipe from Home-Cooked Vegan Comfort Food and it said that it was inspired by Hamburger Helper. Before I had children or went vegan, I used to make Hamburger Helper at least twice a week because it was so fast and easy to prepare. But once I went vegan, HH nights were no more. And to be honest, I never really missed them.

Anyway, this was pretty simple to prepare. The most difficult part was chopping an onion, so that was good news because I had to keep track of two wild and hungry kids.

Heat the oil, sauté the onion, add the TVP (oh god, TVP! My kids will never go for this, let alone my picky eater of a husband!) Anywhoo, add the liquids and the noodles and cook until noodles are tender. Then, add in the sour cream and milk. This looked really gross and runny at this point (son of a b**ch! This looks like weird vegan food! I don’t even want to eat this)

I put on my brave face and served it up to my family, knowing I would hear whining (why do I have to eat this? It’s gross! Why can’t we eat normal food like my friends at school? Sara never has to eat TVP!!)

But guess what I heard instead! “Mommy you should try this! It’s really yummy!” Even the baby wanted to eat it, TVP and all. Color me shocked! Then I tried it…they were right! It was yummy! It was creamy and hearty and didn’t taste anything like the “weird vegan food” that so many meat eaters make fun of us for eating. B didn’t get any of this meal because we ate it all before he got home and got a chance to taste it. I plan on making this again and B will be pleasantly surprised because you can’t even tell that there’s TVP in it!

20140127-110801.jpg

Leave a Reply

