The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Tortuga Rum Cake

2 Comments

When I hear “Tortuga Rum Cake,” it conjures up images of crystal blue oceans, warm, sandy beaches, and Captain Jack Sparrow. I long to be on a beautiful Caribbean island, probably getting burned to a crisp because I’m a natural redhead and everyone knows that gingers and the sun are notorious enemies. Anyway, a girl can dream, right?

I decided to make this recipe from Skinny Bitch Bakery one afternoon after I peeled off the ten layers of clothes necessary to survive a winter day in Michigan. I thought to myself, “I need a vacation to a tropical oasis.” And to help fulfill that fantasy, I ran to my beloved vegan cookbook collection. I stumbled across this recipe and thought, “Rum? Yes!”

20140201-183710.jpg
This cake was very moist and totally delivered the rum flavor I was hoping for! The rum flavor can be a bit overpowering, so I don’t recommend this for kiddos or recovering alcoholics. But overall, I give this a thumbs up.

20140201-184046.jpg

2 thoughts on “Tortuga Rum Cake

  1. That cake looks beautiful with the icing drizzling just perfectly.

Leave a Reply

