The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

“Bacon” Onion Biscuits

Leave a comment

I think that I could put bacon in anything and B would adore it. And to be honest, I truly miss bacon. It’s my vegan kryptonite. I’ve found “bacon” bits that are similar in flavor, but they just aren’t the same. Anyway, they do satisfy most of my bacon cravings and a farm animal didn’t have to die for me to enjoy it.

This is a recipe from Home-Cooked Vegan Comfort Foods. I didn’t put in the onion because I knew B would hate it, and I was making this for him!

20140211-094225.jpg
Mix the vinegar with the soy milk to create “buttermilk.”

20140211-094313.jpg
Mix your dry ingredients together, then use your fingers to cut in the Earth Balance.

20140211-094439.jpg
Add the wet ingredients.

20140211-094513.jpg
Stir to combine, then turn out onto a floured surface. Knead the dough a few times and press until one inch thick.

20140211-094619.jpg

20140211-094638.jpg
It says to cut out circles with a glass, and that’s the way my Nana always did it, but come on! I used a knife and cut it into six Portions.

20140211-094757.jpg
Sprinkle with a little vegan cheese and bake for 12 minutes.

20140211-094846.jpg
These were deeply satisfying! They had the same texture and flavor that I remembered eating as a kid in my Nana’s kitchen. They were crisp on the outside, soft and buttery on the inside and had that pop of bacon flavor from the bacon bits. The whole family enjoyed these with dinner and the next morning I poured homemade vegan pepper gravy over them for a biscuits and gravy breakfast. So delicious!

Leave a Reply

