The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Smoky Mac and Cheese

Leave a comment

I’m always very skeptical when I see a vegan Mac and “cheese” recipe. I’ve made a few vegan versions of this dish and no one ever enjoys it or says “Thank you.” I usually just get dirty looks at the table and end up throwing the concoction away. But I saw this recipe in The Vegan Slow Cooker and thought “why not?” And the picture made the dish look really appetizing.

20140211-095928.jpg
I liked that this recipe only had a few ingredients.

20140211-100008.jpg
Add everything to the slow cooker and cook on high for a hour and a half.

20140211-100058.jpg
I didn’t expect the Dayia cheese to melt as well as it did! I was really excited because it looked like non-vegan mac and cheese and it looked just like the picture in the cook book! I’m always thrilled when it looks just like the picture! Victory for me!

20140211-100255.jpg
We added some bacon bits, because everything is better with bacon. The first few bites were really good, but the more we ate of the dish, the more we didn’t want to. It was a very heavy meal, and the over processed vegan cheese started to make us gag after a while. I think this would be better suited as a side dish as opposed to a main entree. I’m not sure if I’ll make this again, if I do I think I’ll add some veggies to it so it has more flavors to enjoy.

Leave a Reply

