The Great Vegan Adventure

Let the Adventures Begin

Chili sin Carne al Mole

Leave a comment

Chocolate in chili for dinner?! This sounded awesome! It is a recipe from Vegan With A Vengeance and it sounded like the perfect dish to prepare after a morning of ballet practice and a stressful afternoon full of birthday party chaos for A’s friend’s fifth birthday.
This seemed innocent enough, beans, onion, bell pepper, spices and cocoa powder. Simmer for about 30 minutes and allow to sit for 20 minutes.

20140217-140317.jpg
I served this will a little dollop of vegan sour cream.

No one liked this. When I ate the first spoonful, my stomach lurched and I almost vomited. It was runnier than normal chili, more like a soup. I could taste some of the cocoa, but it just wasn’t working for me. I’m not sure why I hated this so much. I love chocolate…I love chili….so, shouldn’t I love them together? Apparently not. I couldn’t get anyone else to eat this either. Even Baby J who is usually my main supporter and will eat anything I make wanted no part in this one. Oh, well. Mark this one off as “Nope.”

Leave a Reply

